DCT’s Vasantrao Dempo H.S.S. of Arts, Science & Commerce, Cujira, hosted the XVth Joint Sports meet of all institutions under the Dempo Charities Trust on 1st February 2018, at the Sports Authority Ground, Campal.

The XVth Joint Sports meet was declared open by the Chief Guest, Shri. Siddharth Kuncolienkar, Chairman of EDC and Chairman of Task Force Cujira Educational Complex, in the presence of the Guest of Honour, Shri V. M. Prabhudesai, Director of Sports and Youth Affairs and Mrs. Pallavi Dempo, Trustee of Dempo Charities Trust.

Speaking on the occasion, the Chief guest lauded the display of sports skills presented by the Principal of the host institution, Mrs Rupa Prabhu Khope. The Guest of Honour spoke about the infrastructure facilities that would come due to the 36th National Games in Goa and urged students to make optimum use of the same. He also urged students to render help in putting up such display for the National Games.

The Trustee of Dempo Charities, Trust Mrs. Pallavi Dempo also praised the efforts of the Physical Education Teachers and their team for putting up a spectacular display of sports skills by the students. Earlier a torch run by the State and National level players of the host institution, culminated into the lighting of the torch marking the beginning of the Sports meet. This was followed by the unfurling of the Sports flag by the Chief guest and the release of balloons by all dignitories present.

The Valedictory function was held with Trustee of Dempo Charities Trust, Shri. Yatish Dempo as the Chief guest who declared the Sports meet closed and Dr. Mrs. Vidhya Satarkar Gawade, International Baseball champion and Shri. Dinesh Jaiswal, Cricket coach and Joint Secretary of the P.T.A. of the host institution were the guests of honour.

The welcome address for the opening and valedictory function was given by the Principal, Mrs. Rupa Khope. Earlier the oath was administered by the State and National level basket ball player, Mast. Shawn Araujo. The individual championship in Mens’ category was bagged by Mr. Anthony Faleiro from Dhempe College of Arts and Science, while Miss Tanvi Vargoankar from Srinivassa Sinai Dempo College of Commerce and Economics, won the best Sports woman. The best individual champion was bagged by Mast. Fahim Killedar while Miss Apeksha Mayenkar won the best sports champion girl, both students of Vasantrao Dempo HSS of Arts, Science & Commerce, Cujira. The team championship in Men’s category was bagged by Dhempe College of Arts and Science, Miramar, while Srinivassa Sinai Dempo College won the Team championship in the women’s category. The host institution Vasantrao Dempo won the Team championship in girls and boys category. The individual and team championship trophies were distributed at the hands of the Chief guest and other dignitaries.

The function was compered by teachers, Ms, Vanaja Mudaliar, Mrs Edna Da Costa, Mrs. Lina Gad and students, Ms. Aqsa Agha, Ms. Aisha Shaikh, Mast, Sudanshu Pai Raikar and Mast. Nikhil Verma.

A vote of thanks for the opening ceremony was proposed by Mr. Chetan Kavlekar and that of the valedictory function was proposed by Mr. Vishal Bhandari, both P.E. teachers. The participating institutions were Dhempe College of Arts and Science, Srinivassa Sinai Dempo College of Commerce & Economics, Dempo HSS of Science, and Vasantrao Dempo HSS of Arts Science & Commerce, the host institution.